Tags

, ,

20140402-230911.jpg So where have I been? I’ve been here…. Trying to regain control over my life! Over the summer, I was diagnosed with a hyperactive thyroid; more specifically, Grave’s Disease. First of all, do you even know where your thyroid is? Do you know what it does? Not many people do. It’s located in your neck. The thyroid controls how quickly the body uses energy, and makes proteins, among other things. When your thyroid functions abnormally, your whole life can change. Grave’s Disease is an autoimmune disorder that is  usually found in women (me) who have a family history of the disorder (also me). But I’m young! I feel fine! I’m not exhibiting any of the symptoms, so maybe I can put this on the back burner and focus on things like school, and you know, getting engaged!!!

But I wasn’t fine. My thyroid was creating excessive hormones! Everything was moving too fast! Soon enough I was having all of the major symptoms:  

Irritability…. That’s a nice term for it. “Irritability”. I think crazy/manic/psycho would be more accurate.

HOT flashes… Literally burning up, sweating bullets,” ’bout-to-suffer-a-heat-stroke-while-sitting-in-an-air-conditioned-building” kinda hot flashes!

Uncontrollable trembling (fun!!) This was the most bizarre experience. I felt like my body was housing a 7.0 earthquake.

Racing heart rate ALL. THE. TIME. As if I’d just finished running a 5k…. even when sitting still!

Sleeplessness (also fun!!!)

Weight loss. I was fine with this, up to a certain point… Sounds great, right ladies? Trust me, it wasn’t. My screwed up thyroid kept me hungry all the time, and although I was eating everything in the house, I kept shrinking. And shrinking. Naturally, I’m pretty slim, but it was getting a little scary. There was no way for me to control how much I was losing.

Also, exhaustion and lack of energy… due to the lack of sleep. Guys, I’ve been so fatigued and devoid of vitality. I’ve spent the last few months walking around looking like a  zombie on The Walking Dead.

Looking back at it all, it’s amazing how quickly everything unraveled.

http://thyroid.about.com/od/newscontroversies/ig/Celebrity-Thyroid-Patients.--02/Jillian-Michaels.htm

Jillian Michaels is only one of many people who suffer from Thyroid issues.

 

I was completely unmotivated to do anything. Work suffered. The blog suffered. And I just sat on the couch trying to find a comfortable position to maybe coax myself to sleep (didn’t work). I was hungry all the time, yet my clothes were falling off from all the weight I was losing!My manager actually referred me to the Employee Assistance Program, because she thought I might be slightly depressed… I knew better, yet I continued to suffer.

It took time, and urging from my fiance for me to finally go back to the doctor, and get things straightened out. Unfortunately, there’s no cure. It’s gonna be a life long thing. But there’s also hope…. This condition is quite manageable! I’ve been on meds now for a few weeks, and it’s made A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE. First of all, I can sleep through the night and wake up refreshed! My heart rate is normalizing! I’ve gained some weight back, but thankfully, I can still fit into my wedding dress! (I was seriously worried there for a moment!!!)

There’s something to be said about taking your health seriously. There’s no ligitimate reason for me to have waited so long to get treatment. I saw what it did to my father, yet I sat on my hands and suffered. I thought maybe I’d be different because my symptoms weren’t progressing as rapidly as his all those years ago. But after a while, they did. When ALL of my pants started getting too big, when I had circles under my eyes from the lack of sleep…. I realized that it was time to move. I now feel like I have my life back!

