Tags

, , , , ,

If you’ve been following this blog, you’ve seen that I’ve recently gone to Charleston with the girls! I’m lucky to live in a city that’s so close to vacation spots. Just a 3 hour drive, and I’ve reached my destination!

Charleston is filled with historical sites, trendy spots for shopping and dining, as well as plenty of access to the beach (yay!!!!) and loads of southern charm. We definitely plan on visiting again soon. Here are a few tips in case you’re heading out to Charleston:

Beaches

By far, my favorite beach this weekend was Isle of Palms! It’s a 20 minute drive from Charleston, or you can stay at a resort nearby.  The beach itself is kinda narrow,  but the town is nice with ample *cheap* parking. If you like waves,  this beach has plenty,  and you can rent surf boards nearby. Pets are allowed on leashes. Folly beach does not (we found out the hard way), and it can get really crowded there. We enjoyed the sand and waves for quite some time!

Restaurant

Magnolias is a beautiful southern restaurant in uptown Charleston. It’s the perfect blend of uptown chic and down home cooking! Loved the atmosphere and the the design of the restaurant. The food was delicious as well! I’d recommend the Pecan Crusted Salmon. I”m usually not a fan of seafood, but this dish made me rethink my own choice!

Cafe

After walking around in the hot sun, we needed to grab a bite to eat. Gaulart & Maliclet is in the King St. area, but keep a sharp eye out- the entrance to this spot can be easily missed! Once you’re inside, you’ll enjoy the trendy Parisian atmosphere. The special that day was the “curry potatoe soup”. Delish!

Activities

You definitely need to try the Charleston Harbor Tours. Spend a relaxing afternoon cruising the harbor and spotting dolphins. After the cruise take a walk around the South Carolina Aquarium and check out the cool sea life!

What do you think? Have I missed anything about this little city by the sea? Leave comments and tell me about your favorite spot in Charleston!

xoxo,

Tipper

