Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Mom is in town!

We went out for our Saturday brunch. It’s our thing. We usually go to Panera (she loves their soufflés), but we decided to try something different. Around Labor Day, I’d passed a little creperie on Tryon street, and had been meaning to stop by. Well, with mom in town, I had a reason to go! (Haha, ok. I could’ve gone plenty of times by now, but I knew mom would really enjoy it!)

Hazelnuts Creperie is located in uptown Charlotte on S. Tryon Street, right next to McCormick & Schmick’s. I’d had crepes before, but it really wasn’t a great experience. However, Mom was excited when I mentioned this new place, so I decided to give it a shot. Man, oh man! I couldn’t believe how GOOD it was. I tried the pesto crepe, and mom had the curry crepe.

After we finished our food…. we talked. Mom said it best: You can talk on the phone all you like, but it’s not the same as a conversation vis-a-vis. We talked about her new life in VA, and my continuing adventure down here in NC. We talked about marriage and relationships, money, plans for the future, and lingering pains of the past. I may have my hangups about my mother, but I DO appreciate her wisdom. She’s been quite supportive and helpful in my current relationship. And as 30 quickly approaches, I am amazed at how life changes around me. My mother is here with me now, supporting me, but someday I will be HER, imparting wisdom to another young woman. Our roles in life change (sometimes even before we’re ready for it). I wonder what role(s) I’ll have when I’m her age… or when I’m 30 😉

Crepes in preparation!

20121229-160838.jpg

Pesto Chicken Crepe

20121229-160929.jpg

If you’re in the Charlotte area, I highly suggest that you stop by. I had no idea that I was in for such a treat. 🙂

